8th International Conference on Diffusion in Solids and Liquids (DSL-2012) - Istanbul, Turkey - June 25-29, 2012

This Special Session will cover all aspects of nano-structured carbon and oxide-based materials. Possible topics include synthesis and characterization of oxide-based and carbon-based namely, carbon nanotubes (CNTs), carbon nano-fibres, carbon nano-composite, diamond-like carbon, etc. may be presented. Metal oxide, namely ZnO, TiO2, Fe2O3, ferrites, garnets, etc for various applications like solar cell, LED , FET, sensor, antenna, catalysis, battery, lubricant, can also be presented. Modeling and simulation of the carbon- and oxide-based nano-structured materials are highly welcome.

The topics included (but not limited to) in this session are as follows:

  • Synthesis, characterization and application of carbón nanotubes (CNTs) and nano-structured carbon materials.
  • Synthesis, characterization and application of nano-structured oxide, composite materials and thin films.
  • Modeling and simulation of carbon and oxide nano-structured materials.
  • Nano-structured magnetic, optic, dielectric materials and their applications.
  • Nano-structured materials for electro-chemical energy.

Invited Speakers

The following presentations were given by invited speakers.


This Special Session was organized in part by Professor Gregory Kozlowski from Wright State University.


Submissions from 2012


New Routes to Copper Nanocatalysts for Fine Chemical Synthesis, Pavel Abdulkin, Yanina Moglie, Faysal Benaskar, Volker Engels, Jan Meuldijk, Volker Hessel, Emiel J. M. Hensen, Miguel Yus, Jaap C. Schouten, Francisco Alonso, and Andrew E. H. Wheatley


Growth of Graphene Architectures on SiC, John J. Boeckl, Weijie Lu, William C. Mitchel, Kurt G. Eyink, Howard Smith, Larry Grazulis, Gerry Landis, and Said Elhamri


Magnetic Nanoparticles in Hyperthermia Treatment, Gregory Kozlowski


AC Magnetic Heating of Superparamagnetic Fe and Co Nanoparticles, Anna Lukawska, Zafrullah Jagoo, Gregory Kozlowski, Zafer Turgut, Hiroyuki Kosai, Alexander Sheets, Tyler Bixel, Andrew Wheatley, Pavel Abdulkin, Benjamin Knappett, Thomas Houlding, and Volkan Degirmenci


Properties of SbSI@CNTs and SbSI Nanowires, Marian Nowak, Krzysztof Koziol, Gregory Kozlowski, Krystian Mistewicz, and Marcin Jesionek


In-situ Engineering of Graphene with Electrons, Mark Ruemmeli