The Whites of Their Eyes: Bunker Hill, the First American Army, and the Emergence of George Washington

Title

The Whites of Their Eyes: Bunker Hill, the First American Army, and the Emergence of George Washington

Files

Document Type

Book

Description

Drawing upon new research and scholarship, historian Paul Lockhart, author of the critically acclaimed Revolutionary War biography The Drillmaster of Valley Forge, offers a penetrating reassessment of the first major engagement of the American Revolution. In the tradition of David McCullough’s 1776, Lockhart illuminates the Battle of Bunker Hill as a crucial event in the creation of an American identity, dexterously interweaving the story of this pivotal pitched battle with two other momentous narratives: the creation of America’s first army, and the rise of the man who led it, George Washington.

Publication Date

2011

Find in a Library

Catalog Record

Publisher

Harper

City

New York

Keywords

Battle of Bunker Hill, Continental Army, George Washington--1732-1799

Disciplines

Arts and Humanities | History | Military History

The Whites of Their Eyes: Bunker Hill, the First American Army, and the Emergence of George Washington

Catalog Record

Share

COinS