Publication Date


Document Type


Committee Members

John Emmert (Advisor)

Degree Name

Master of Science in Engineering (MSEgr)


On October, 2, 2000, The National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) announced Rijndael as the new Advanced Encryption Standard (AES). The other competing algorithms were Mars, RC6, Serpent and Two-fish. The Predecessor to the AES was Data Encryption Standard (DES) which is considered to be insecure because of its vulnerability to brute force attacks. DES was a standard from 1977 and stayed until the mid 1990's. However, by the mid 1990s, it was clear that the DES's 56-bit key was no longer big enough to prevent attacks mounted on contemporary computers, which were thousands of times more powerful than those available when the DES was standardized. The AES is a 128 bit Symmetric block Cipher. This Thesis provides three different architectures for encrypting/decrypting 128 bit data using the AES. The encryption and decryption modules include the Key Expansion module which generates Key for all iterations on the fly. The first one is the Basic iterative AES, which reuses the same Hardware for all the ten iterations. The second is a one stage sub pipelined AES, which is pipelined, with one stage of outer pipelining in the data block. The above two architectures are synthesized and implemented in Virtex IV FPGA family of devices. These circuits were also tested and verified using CHIPSCOPE pro. The basic iterative AES encryption encodes data at 2.3 Gbps and one stage sub pipelined AES encodes at 5.1 Gbps. Extending the one stage to four stages pipelined AES which is the third architecture, the efficiency increases to 7.2 Gbps. These architectures are compared with the architectures in the Literature.

Page Count


Department or Program

Department of Electrical Engineering

Year Degree Awarded